A brief history of First Presbyterian Church of Spokane
First Presbyterian Church of Spokane Falls was organized in 1883 with 19 charter members under the leadership of Rev. Thomas Watson. Watson arrived in the area as a "home missionary" with the assignment to plant churches throughout what was then the Washington Territory. He pushed hard for the first congregation in the eastern part of the territory to be here in "Spokane Falls" rather than in Cheney which was the county seat at the time. During the first three and a half years the church did not have a building of its own but in 1886 the first church building was dedicated on what is now the site of the Spokesman-Review building.
After a few more moves, the current church site was chosen and the original portion of the building, which includes the sanctuary and towers, was dedicated on June 12, 1910. The educational wing stretching west along Fourth Avenue was completed in 1951, and the most recent addition, which houses the fellowship hall, the gym and the school class rooms, was finished in 1995.
A centennial history of First Presbyterian Church, covering the period from 1883 to 1983, was published in 1984 and shares the history of our congregation. The church’s rich history of Christian education, mission and worship music is highlighted within this volume.
The church and/or its members have played a significant role in the creation and support of important ministries within the Spokane community including Mid-City Concerns (Meals on Wheels), the Barton School (ESL program), Martin Luther King Jr. Center, Liberty Park Child Development Center, Christ Clinic and Christ Kitchen.
“Internally strong externally focused” has been the call of FPC throughout its history.